Date Bars

  Instead of a craft I have a recipe today. It’s my grandma’s date bars, she used to make them a lot although I don’t remember ever trying them, I thought dates were gross, but last year I tried some date bars my mom made and I loved them! So, today I thought I would make my grandma’s date bars.

105_0288

One 8 oz. package of dates                                

1 c. brown sugar

3/4 c melted butter

1 tsp. baking soda

1 c. brown sugar

3/4 c melted butter

1 tsp. baking soda

2 c. rolled oats

Cook the first 3 ingredients in a saucepan on medium heat until thick. Then let cool. Preheat oven at 350 degrees. Melt butter and mix with the remaining ingredients. Put half the oat mixture in a 10 inch square pan. Press it so it won’t fall apart after it’s baked. Spread date filling on top. Press the remaining oat mixture over the dates. Bake for 20 minutes.

I hope you like them as much as I do. Enjoy!

One thought on “Date Bars

Leave a Reply

